Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

DUI is a very serious charge. If you have been charged with DUI and are looking for an experienced, skilled South Carolina DUI lawyer, contact David Seay, Jr. David has more than 20 years of trial and court experience defending those charged with DUI, DUAC, and other traffic violations.

If you have been charged with DUI, you need to be as informed as possible about this charge. Here are some of the most common questions about DUI:

My license was suspended – can I get it back?
Often, when a person is arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving with Unlawful Alcohol Concentration (DUAC), the DMV administratively suspends their license for either refusing to provide a breath test sample or providing a breath test sample reading of .15 or greater.

Many people do not realize that they may be eligible for a Temporary Alcohol License or Temporary Route Restricted License during their administrative suspension. You generally only have 30 days from the date of your arrest to appeal your administrative suspension, so it’s important to consult an attorney immediately after an arrest for DUI/DUAC.

When you call to set up your consult, David or a member of his staff can tell you if you are eligible for one of these temporary licenses, and explain to you the procedure for obtaining one.

What happens if I’m convicted of DUI?
It’s important to note if you plead guilty or pay a fine for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) under SC 56-5-2930 or Driving with Unlawful Alcohol Concentration (DUAC) under SC 56-5-2933, the SC DMV will impose a suspension on your license, and you will be required to carry more expensive SR-22 car insurance, pay a reinstatement fee and enroll and complete the ADSAP program before your driving privilege is reinstated.

Additionally, subsequent to the October 1, 2014, implementation of Emma’s Law, you may also be required to maintain an ignition interlock device on your motor vehicle (at your own expense) in order to be able to continue to legally operate a motor vehicle in the State of South Carolina.

If you are charged with DUI/DUAC or any crime, call David Seay at (864) 235-6790 immediately to schedule your FREE criminal consultation.

Contact David

Error Message